Brian And Charles Soundtrack Out Now

Original Score from Academy Award® nominated composer Daniel Pemberton

1812 Recordings are pleased to announce the release of the original soundtrack Focus Features’ BRIAN AND CHARLES from Academy Award® nominated composer Daniel Pemberton. The film debuted at this year’s Sundance Film Festival, where its tale of Brian – a lonely rural inventor who builds a robot, Charles, to be his friend – won over critics and audiences alike. A unique piece of feelgood cinema, the soundtrack mirrors the movie’s lo-fi aesthetic, utilising dreamy and unusual synthesizer textures alongside quirky upbeat cues. The film released theatrically last week in the US, and fans can now enjoy the soundtrack on all global digital music services.

“I wanted the score to feel as if Vaughan Williams was alive today but was writing wonderous pastoral music in Vangelis’ studio on some knackered old synths,” says Pemberton. “It needed to feel unlike anything else out there, to have a quality that both captured the cinematic wonder of the Welsh landscape as well as the offbeat homemade nature of the characters.”

The soundtrack album also features a specially commissioned remix of the track “The Workshop of Invention” from legendary electronic artists THE FUTURE SOUND OF LONDON, which released last week alongside the opening track “Wales, Land of Wonder”.

See the film in theatres now and get the soundtrack here.

Track listing:

1.) Wales, Land of Wonder

2.) The Workshop of Invention

3.) Morning Glory

4.) The Blue Blue Sky

5.) Inspiration in Anything

6.) Birth and Creation

7.) Hello Charles

8.) Fun Times

9.) Land of Sheep

10.) I am Dreaming

11.) Crossed Wires

12.) Very Cheeky

13.) The Lake

14.) Use Your Imagination

15.) Bad People

16.) Brian vs the Bonfire

17.) Cabbage Cannon Chase

18.) Petrescu Power

19.) Brian + Charles

20.) I Want to See It All (Charles Rap) – Charles Petrescu

21.) The Workshop of Invention (The Future Sound Of London Remix)

About Brian and Charles

Brian and Charles follows Brian, a lonely inventor in rural Wales, who spends his days building quirky unconventional contraptions that seldom work. Undeterred by his lack of success, Brian attempts his biggest project yet.

Three days, a washing machine, and various spare parts later, he’s invented Charles, an artificially intelligent robot who learns English from a dictionary and has an obsession with cabbages. What follows is a humorous and entirely heart-warming story about friendship, family, finding love, and letting go.

Directed by Jim Archer. Starring David Earl and Chris Hayward. A Focus Features release.

About Daniel Pemberton

Composer Daniel Pemberton, who was nominated for an Oscar in 2021 for his work with the singer Celeste on the song Hear My Voice and recently nominated for a BAFTA for his score to “Being The Ricardos”, is best known for his work in film where his credits include “Birds Of Prey”, “Spider-Man: Into The Spider-Verse”, “The Trial Of The Chicago 7”, “The Bad Guys”, “Oceans 8” and “Yesterday”. He was named Film Composer of The Year in 2021 by the World Soundtrack Academy and the IFMCA. Other notable awards include winning an Emmy for the song “Rising Phoenix” from the award-winning documentary of the same name and a Golden Globe nomination for the song “Gold” with Iggy Pop. He recently co-wrote and produced the title theme “Strange Game” with Mick Jagger for the Apple TV+ series “Slow Horses”.